Reviews

What People are Saying...

04/09/2017: "We picked this place for our last dinner out in Punta Gorda and we were not disappointed. Great food and service!"

03/29/2017: "Our new find for Punta Gorda ... one of the best dining experiences we have had anywhere! Gabriel provided perfect service, all our meals were exceptional! Will be back often!"

03/27/2017: "This was our first visit and we will be back. We had a party of 11 and were seated quickly, the server, Mary Jane, was right on it from the start. The menu is varied enough to suit many tastes and the portion sizes are quite good. There were four restaurant owners in this party and we all left saying that it was outstanding and we would be back, A great evening with friends celebrating two birthdays made even better by the service and the food,"

03/14/2017: "Located not far from the Peace River Walk, it is an elegant restaurant with an extensive menu of refined offerings. Everyone raved about their entree. Highly recommended."

03/66/2017: "Outstanding! My wife's 50th birthday and we requested that no menu be provided as we would like "Chefs Choice." From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable. Once we were seated and chose our drinks the courses began; 6 courses were served with flawless execution. Each dish was expertly presented and delicious ... the wine pairings were spot on, we had a great evening. We will absolutely be back"

02/26/2017: "A perfect dining experience! The food was special and delicious and the service was exceptional. Next time we are visiting Punta Gorda, we will definitely go again. I envy those of you who live close to this very lovely restaurant."

02/20/2017: "Exceptional food and service. Noelle was personable, informative and efficient. Would go again if it weren't so far from PA."

02/04/2017: "Excellent food. At our table, two had the pork chop, one had salmon, and one had steak--all delicious!"

01/22/2017: "My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. Great service, really cool decor, the atmosphere was just right. We were so pleasantly surprised. The specialty drinks were just that – special. The timing of food delivery was superb. So nice to have the chef come out and inquire about our experience. We told her that her food was great. She was really nice. Anyway, we will be back next time we're in town."

01/07/2017: "The wait staff was cordial and very attentive and prompt to serve and take away finished plates. The food experience was of the highest quality. My husband and I shared two appetizers - foie gras and beet tower. Both were tasty but the foie gras was outstanding, and the portions were generous. I ordered house made gnocchi with braised lamb because I always jump at the chance to sample good gnocchi, a hard-to-find menu option. My husband had the "crabby scallops" on a bed of black rice with bok choy, very delicious. We splurged and ordered the chocolate bread pudding and the gingerbread ice cream cookie for dessert. A lovely ending!"

01/05/2017: "We arrived early so it was quiet. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable in answering our questions. We will return."

12/19/2016: "Best in the whole area by far!!!! Super service and food!"

12/09/2016: "The Perfect Caper never lets us down, whether we eat at the bar or dine in the dining room. We had reservations with some friends and it was a delightful experience for all."

11/29/2016: "Very nice place. Quiet intimate feel. Attentive waitstaff. Creative dishes."

11/18/2016: "I wrote a review recently and mentioned I'd be back for a special birthday dinner. My wife and I were not disappointed. A quite lively Thursday night, she ordered from the value minded Prix Fix meal, Warm Goat and Sausage Pasta that she had before and loves. I went for the Duck Foie Gras, something rarely prepared in our area and certainly not with this much skill, and a double preparation of duck, confit and marinated breast meat with a sauce bringing balance to this five star main course. Even though a busy night, we were not rushed and the service respectable, even though by a new member of their team - I suspected - yet with a careful eye from her veteran mentors. One of the best surprises? The co-owner chef herself (the one who flayed Flay) dropping by as we do in this small town, saying a word to each table close to an early closing time. Punta Gorda continues to be remarkable, the Caper another success here. I think that is the reason these talented people choose this place to work and live, and we are happy to return. Happy November and Thanksgiving."

10/28/2016: "This was my first trip to The Perfect Caper, but it won't be my last. The atmosphere was great, the food was absolutely delicious and the staff was both knowledgeable and congenial."

10/08/2016: "The Perfect Caper is our favorite restaurant in the Port Charlotte/Punta Gorda area. We have always had great service and food. Everyone there goes out of their way to take care of our needs. The food is outstanding. What a gem right here in Punta Gorda. Our biggest problem is picking what to have with so many wonderful choices."

09/29/2016: "Fantastic meal here as always. Great food, service and atmosphere. The calamari was amazing. The mussels were wonderful. The shrimp and grits were great. The beet tower salad was very good"

09/09/2015: "The Perfect Caper is a great Punta Gorda, FL restaurant offering fresh ingredients and consistently good food. The Duck A Deux Facons is outstanding! Service is very good and the atmosphere is great for everything from a business lunch or dinner to "date night" or a special occasion."

08/25/2016: "A hidden gem. Always great food and good service. If you can find a better rack of lamb, buy it!!"

08/10/2016: "Even with the abbreviated summer menu; Perfect Caper still satisfies those looking for upscale food in SW Florida. My favorite is one of the two scallop dishes but this time I branched out with the lamb gnocchi. The boneless lamb was very tasty and the homemade gnocchi was plentiful....maybe too plentiful.!"

08/01/2015: "Excellent gourmet food, superb service and a pleasing ambiance. My wife and I are huge fans of pan seared scallops, which we order frequently at gourmet restaurants, and these were by far the best we have ever had! The roasted lamb and gnochi dish was also succulent and very creative, as is the entire menu. We have sampled many fine restaurants in Punta Gorda, and this is our favorite. The Perfect Caper is the perfect place for an exciting and deeply satisfying culinary experience!"

07/01/16: "A long time favorite. Our go-to place in Punta Gorda. One of the few restaurants with servers who are well trained!"

06/24/16: "Great fine-dining restaurant with a high level of service and food quality and innovation."

06/23/16: "Spectacular as always!!! Must try the Calamari and pork belly appetizers. The pomegranate martini is also a big hit with us."

06/14/16: "Moved to the region from DC, formerly of other cities such as SF and NYC - missing Foodie food and restaurants and definitely missing professional service - found it all at The Perfect Caper. Gabriel made my birthday special and so did the kitchen staff. Appreciate every extra mile you go to make your own sauces, pastas and anything else you do in house."

Read More...