What People are Saying...

02/28/2018: "Wonderful menu, delicious food, attentive service and classy ambience."

02/19/2018: "This was the best experience from the the reservations to the dessert. We ordered the tuna for our app and it came with fresh wasabi, ground tableside. I get the tuna wherever it's available, and this was some of the best hands down. Next, was the main course of duck, rare for me, and crabby scallops for my wife. Both entrees where simply phenomenal. Our server, Shawna, took great care of us and had our meal timed perfectly. To finish it all off, was the Seven Chocolate Cake. All I can say about it is, try it. We will definitely be back. "

02/08/2018: "Yum Yum and more yum! Impeccable service as always additionally, Jeanie the owner/chef was there and she greeted every table and helped bring food to tables and explained some of the specials to those that had ordered them. Another great evening "

02/01/2018: "Incredible food and helpful staff. For a small upcharge, they brought delicious gluten free popovers instead of the typical. Kitchen got backed up with a huge group's order so our dinner was slow. We hadn't complained, but the waiter still comped us a second glass of wine. Nice touch! If we were local, we'd certainly be back for the interesting and delicious food!"

01/28/2018: "Interesting menu. Everything was delicious. Calamari appetizer, "warm goat" appetizer, shrimp and grits...all to die for! Loved the bar and bartender as well."

01/18/2018: "We like to think that we know good food. We travel quite often. This restaurant had the best food we have had in a while. We ordered the Heirloom and Motz salad... unbelievably delicious!!! For our entree, we shared the Duck a Deux Façons. The flavor was exceptional. We can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Will definitely go back when we're in the area."

01/09/2018: "It was our second time there. We were set up in the bar area. Great food and service. This is probably one of the nicest places we have been in Punta Gorda to eat. We had small plates and main course dinners in our group. Just a great experience."

01/02/2018: "Amazing food. The pork belly tacos, along with their calamari are the best you will ever eat in your life! Josh is a great bartender who aims to please and remembers all his customers. The entire wait staff is suberb. The culinary staff and their ability is second to none. If you don't try the Perfect Caper you are missing out. We've been dining here for 6 years! "

12/28/2017: "We eat at the Perfect Caper every time we are in SWFL and it never disappoints!"

12/16/2017: "We had my wife's birthday there and the food we order was great and the service perfect. My mother in law brought a cake and they cut it and served it for us. We had a good time. We will be back. I loved the way they prepare the lamb."

11/30/2017: "A wonderful restaurant and they never disappoint! It quickly became our favorite restaurant. Food, staff, drinks and atmosphere all fabulous, and consistently so. Fun to eat in the bar as well, for a more casual experience. Highly recommend this restaurant for dining out whether a special occasion or not."

11/19/2017: "We live in Naples, FL and have many friends in Sarasota, FL. This is the place we meet for dinner because the food and service is consistently very good and can please everyone who driven 50 miles to see each other. The last time was a Sunday evening early, and the restaurant was not jam packed, and was quiet enough for easy conversation. We recommend the lamb chop and the chocolate dessert - but everything is very good. Since this is a special restaurant in Punta Gorda, you should make reservations."

11/05/2017: "Great atomsphere! Amazing food, the steak melted right off my fork mmm... amazing service over all A+ !! Will def be back!"

10/27/2017: "We always look forward to dining here on our visits to Punta Gorda. Hidden away, it is discovered more each time we dine here. So happy that they began lunch a while back. The service is great, and the food is phenominal-fresh, creative, and lovely presentations. We are more heavier luncheon diners, but the luncheon selections are as abundant as when we've dinner dined there. The calamari appetizer is the best we've ever encountered, and the Tempura prawns are huge. On this visit, I politely asked if the Tempura asparagus with the prawns could be substituted with another Tempura veggie, or skipped; it was no problem to substitute Tempura green beans, for which I was grateful. We wish Jeanne and Staff were up in our area."

10/06/2017: "Enjoyed a great time at the bar lounge with Josh and James. Their service and attention was world class. Food was excellent. Had a wonderful time and will be back."

09/30/2017: "We always have a good dinner at the Perfect Caper!"

09/28/2017: "First time at this restaurant and will definitely return! Wonderful food and service. Not inexpensive but worth every penny!"

09/04/2017: "Excellent restaurant celebrated; my birthday... highly worth it !"

09/02/2017: "The Perfect Caper is a wonderful place to eat. The food, service and drinks are all good. We highly recommend it for a nice dinner or to celebrate something, anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal."

09/01/2017: "Best meal I have ever eaten. Went on Wed for a business dinner and had to take my wife on Friday. Amazing!!!!!"

08/22/2017: "The Thai mussels were excellent for an appetizer. The squid ink pasta had perfectly spiced sauce with some heat. The special was a burger, which had a top layer of macaroni and cheese instead of the top bun. Creative and cooked perfectly medium rare. Dessert was a palate cleansing, lemon cheesecake with raspberry sauce and garnished with fresh strawberries. Alexandra, our server was attentive, friendly, and welcoming."

08/16/2017: "Very enjoyable evening. We had the Prix Fixe menu as we do not have big appetites. The portions were good and provided excellent value for money. We will make a point of returning."

08/05/2017: "The quality of the food was outstanding and very tasty, the service was at the right pace and quality, and the ambience was very conducive to a quiet conversation."

07/19/2017: "Y'all I never, ever post about a restaurant, and I travel somewhere different each week... This is, for sure, the place!!! Lost in a small, FL town [Punta Gorda]; I am so glad my friends found this JAMES BEARD AWARD WINNING PLACE!!!"

07/17/2017: "This is Punta Gorda's finest restaurant. We dine here frequently and are never disappointed. The service by Mary Jane was excellent. The food was wonderful and full of flavor. I had the Shrimp and Grits and my son had the filet la maison. The shrimp and grits is the best I have ever had as is their calamari. My wife had the mussels which were fresh and fantastic."

06/30/2017: "Went for my birthday on Friday. As always the food and service were outstanding. I would never hesitate to recommend the Perfect Caper to anyone wanting a lovely lunch or dinner. You are never disappointed."

06/15/2017: "In a sea of restaurants that serve bar food and call it fine dining, the Perfect Caper is truly a great place for great food. The service added to the first class feel too. We talked about the food, the menu and the evening all the way home. What a breath of fresh air!"

06/06/2017: "Great food and service. The Moroccan lamb is scrumptious. Also tasted the duck, and scallops. Awesome food. For starters we had paté, mussels, and mozzarella, prosciutto, and tomato salad. Desert was an incredible chocolate cake and Woodford Reserve. One of the best meals I've ever experienced. The place deserves six stars!"

05/22/2017: "Excellent all around. The bread that they bring to your table is baked fresh daily and it is so delicious. The appetizers were abundant and very tasty. Our dinners were amazing & the desserts were to die for! My husband brought me here for my birthday & it was a wonderful dining experience. Thank you!"

05/07/2017: "One of the best restaurants I have found in SWFL. The food, service and setting was unbelievable. The staff was so incredibly knowledgeable on their unique menu, even explaining to us how they make a particular dish and where it came from. Our server was so sweet and gave the best recommendations. I loved it from start to finish!"

04/09/2017: "We picked this place for our last dinner out in Punta Gorda and we were not disappointed. Great food and service!"

03/29/2017: "Our new find for Punta Gorda ... one of the best dining experiences we have had anywhere! Gabriel provided perfect service, all our meals were exceptional! Will be back often!"

03/27/2017: "This was our first visit and we will be back. We had a party of 11 and were seated quickly, the server, Mary Jane, was right on it from the start. The menu is varied enough to suit many tastes and the portion sizes are quite good. There were four restaurant owners in this party and we all left saying that it was outstanding and we would be back, A great evening with friends celebrating two birthdays made even better by the service and the food,"

03/14/2017: "Located not far from the Peace River Walk, it is an elegant restaurant with an extensive menu of refined offerings. Everyone raved about their entree. Highly recommended."

03/66/2017: "Outstanding! My wife's 50th birthday and we requested that no menu be provided as we would like "Chefs Choice." From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable. Once we were seated and chose our drinks the courses began; 6 courses were served with flawless execution. Each dish was expertly presented and delicious ... the wine pairings were spot on, we had a great evening. We will absolutely be back"

02/26/2017: "A perfect dining experience! The food was special and delicious and the service was exceptional. Next time we are visiting Punta Gorda, we will definitely go again. I envy those of you who live close to this very lovely restaurant."

02/20/2017: "Exceptional food and service. Noelle was personable, informative and efficient. Would go again if it weren't so far from PA."

02/04/2017: "Excellent food. At our table, two had the pork chop, one had salmon, and one had steak--all delicious!"

01/22/2017: "My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. Great service, really cool decor, the atmosphere was just right. We were so pleasantly surprised. The specialty drinks were just that – special. The timing of food delivery was superb. So nice to have the chef come out and inquire about our experience. We told her that her food was great. She was really nice. Anyway, we will be back next time we're in town."

01/07/2017: "The wait staff was cordial and very attentive and prompt to serve and take away finished plates. The food experience was of the highest quality. My husband and I shared two appetizers - foie gras and beet tower. Both were tasty but the foie gras was outstanding, and the portions were generous. I ordered house made gnocchi with braised lamb because I always jump at the chance to sample good gnocchi, a hard-to-find menu option. My husband had the "crabby scallops" on a bed of black rice with bok choy, very delicious. We splurged and ordered the chocolate bread pudding and the gingerbread ice cream cookie for dessert. A lovely ending!"

01/05/2017: "We arrived early so it was quiet. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable in answering our questions. We will return."

12/19/2016: "Best in the whole area by far!!!! Super service and food!"

12/09/2016: "The Perfect Caper never lets us down, whether we eat at the bar or dine in the dining room. We had reservations with some friends and it was a delightful experience for all."

11/29/2016: "Very nice place. Quiet intimate feel. Attentive waitstaff. Creative dishes."

11/18/2016: "I wrote a review recently and mentioned I'd be back for a special birthday dinner. My wife and I were not disappointed. A quite lively Thursday night, she ordered from the value minded Prix Fix meal, Warm Goat and Sausage Pasta that she had before and loves. I went for the Duck Foie Gras, something rarely prepared in our area and certainly not with this much skill, and a double preparation of duck, confit and marinated breast meat with a sauce bringing balance to this five star main course. Even though a busy night, we were not rushed and the service respectable, even though by a new member of their team - I suspected - yet with a careful eye from her veteran mentors. One of the best surprises? The co-owner chef herself (the one who flayed Flay) dropping by as we do in this small town, saying a word to each table close to an early closing time. Punta Gorda continues to be remarkable, the Caper another success here. I think that is the reason these talented people choose this place to work and live, and we are happy to return. Happy November and Thanksgiving."

10/28/2016: "This was my first trip to The Perfect Caper, but it won't be my last. The atmosphere was great, the food was absolutely delicious and the staff was both knowledgeable and congenial."

10/08/2016: "The Perfect Caper is our favorite restaurant in the Port Charlotte/Punta Gorda area. We have always had great service and food. Everyone there goes out of their way to take care of our needs. The food is outstanding. What a gem right here in Punta Gorda. Our biggest problem is picking what to have with so many wonderful choices."

09/29/2016: "Fantastic meal here as always. Great food, service and atmosphere. The calamari was amazing. The mussels were wonderful. The shrimp and grits were great. The beet tower salad was very good"

09/09/2015: "The Perfect Caper is a great Punta Gorda, FL restaurant offering fresh ingredients and consistently good food. The Duck A Deux Facons is outstanding! Service is very good and the atmosphere is great for everything from a business lunch or dinner to "date night" or a special occasion."

08/25/2016: "A hidden gem. Always great food and good service. If you can find a better rack of lamb, buy it!!"

08/10/2016: "Even with the abbreviated summer menu; Perfect Caper still satisfies those looking for upscale food in SW Florida. My favorite is one of the two scallop dishes but this time I branched out with the lamb gnocchi. The boneless lamb was very tasty and the homemade gnocchi was plentiful....maybe too plentiful.!"

08/01/2015: "Excellent gourmet food, superb service and a pleasing ambiance. My wife and I are huge fans of pan seared scallops, which we order frequently at gourmet restaurants, and these were by far the best we have ever had! The roasted lamb and gnochi dish was also succulent and very creative, as is the entire menu. We have sampled many fine restaurants in Punta Gorda, and this is our favorite. The Perfect Caper is the perfect place for an exciting and deeply satisfying culinary experience!"

07/01/16: "A long time favorite. Our go-to place in Punta Gorda. One of the few restaurants with servers who are well trained!"

06/24/16: "Great fine-dining restaurant with a high level of service and food quality and innovation."

06/23/16: "Spectacular as always!!! Must try the Calamari and pork belly appetizers. The pomegranate martini is also a big hit with us."

06/14/16: "Moved to the region from DC, formerly of other cities such as SF and NYC - missing Foodie food and restaurants and definitely missing professional service - found it all at The Perfect Caper. Gabriel made my birthday special and so did the kitchen staff. Appreciate every extra mile you go to make your own sauces, pastas and anything else you do in house."